A Holistic View of Zodiacal Archetypes

A Holistic Approach to the Astrological Archetypes: Ancient mosaic of the Sun and the Zodiac Signs
“Mosaic Sun Wall with zodiac at Rozhen Observatory Bulgaria” by Boris Dzhingarov shared under Creative Commons license

In the following post, I will explore the astrological archetypes in a holistic manner:

Astrological Trinity:

Concerning the polarity that exists between the opposite signs, the 12 signs of the zodiac can be divided into 2 groups, displaying 6 types of polarity: the first group deals with “I” Vs. “the other” and the second group describes how “I” connects to “others” (i.e. the collective).

Hence we will have a two-fold trinity:

Aries/Libra: “I am” vs. “the other is” (Existence)
Taurus / Scorpio: “I have” vs. “the other has” (Possession)
Gemini / Sagittarius: “I know” vs. “the other knows” (Knowledge)

Cancer / Capricorn: “I build for myself” vs. “I build for others” (Society)
Leo / Aquarius: “I love myself” vs. “I love others” (Philanthropy)
Virgo / Pisces: “I take care of myself” vs. “I take care of others” (Charity)

The 12 Houses are also numbered in association with the 12 Signs, therefore:

1 (Aries) / 4 (Cancer) / 7 (Libra) / 10 (Capricorn) = Angular Houses
2 (Taurus) / 5 (Leo) / 8 (Scorpio) / 11 (Aquarius) = Succedent Houses
3 (Gemini) / 6 (Virgo) / 9 (Sagittarius) / 12 (Pisces) = Cadent Houses

When we get to “Cadent” Houses, all numbers are multiples of 3, hence the trinity is beautifully completed.

Astrological Modalities:

Another way of understanding astrological archetypes in relation to one another would be understanding the “modality” of each sign-pair:

Aries/Libra & Cancer / Capricorn = Cardinal (Initiation / Birth)
Taurus / Scorpio & Leo / Aquarius = Fixed (Preservation / Life)
Gemini / Sagittarius & Virgo / Pisces = Mutable (Culmination / Death)

Symmetry in Astrological Archetypes:

Traditional Planetary Rulers of each sign can also be understood based on the natural symmetry of the zodiac. Starting with Sun and Moon as the archetypal King and Queen, the signs associated with these two heavenly bodies are Leo (Sun) and Cancer (Moon).

Right next door to these two signs, we have the witty-clown Mercury ruling two signs Virgo and Gemini. Then next door to Mercury, we have the beautiful princess Venus and her signs, Libra and Taurus. Next door to Venus lives the soldier Mars with his two feisty signs, Scorpio and Aries.

As the circle around the King and Queen expands, we get to the priest Jupiter who lives next door to Mars, ruling Sagittarius and Pisces. Afterward, comes the Prime Minister Saturn, next door to the priest, and standing as far as possible from King Leo and Queen Cancer (in astrological terms, in “opposition” to them), ruling Aquarius and Capricorn.

Thus the court circle seems to be complete with all the players involved. Considering the natural sequence of the zodiac in a circular fashion:

Aries (Mars), Taurus (Venus), Gemini (Mercury), Cancer (Moon Queen), Leo (Sun King), Virgo (Mercury), Libra (Venus), Scorpio (Mars), Sagittarius (Jupiter), Capricorn (Saturn), Aquarius (Saturn), Pisces (Jupiter) [and back to Aries (Mars)].

Cancer = Moon Queen                                 Leo =  Sun King 
[To her left] Gemini = Mercury                  [his right] Virgo = Mercury
[To Mercury’s left] Taurus = Venus        [Mercury’s right] Libra = Venus
[To Venus’ left] Aries = Mars                      [Venus’ right] Scorpio = Mars
[To Mars’ left] Pisces = Jupiter                 [Mars’ right] Sagittarius = Jupiter
[To Jupiter’s left] Aquarius = Saturn     [Jupiter’s right] Capricorn = Saturn

The symbology of number 12 can also be seen repeated in many cultures and religions, possibly parallel to the natural symmetry of the zodiac, including the 12 tribes of Israel in Jewish tradition, 12 Apostles of Christ in Christianity, and the 12  Imams of Shia Islam.

In the next post, I will address the Modern Planetary Rulers and their significance in evolutionary astrology.

8 Replies to “A Holistic View of Zodiacal Archetypes”

  1. I have enjoyed this deeply perceptive blog post that you have written. And there is also a very interesting synchronicity happening with it, because your post is very, very similar to the last post that I have written on my blog, which I named, ‘Which Astrological Sign Will Planet Nine Rule?’, in which I go into the old planetary rulership system, and then the new planetary rulership system.

    I didn’t read your post and feel inspired and then go away and write my own very similar post, because I posted mine a few days before yours. And I know that you haven’t read my post and ‘copied’ it, because it hasn’t been read by anyone yet! So what is the universe up to here?

    If you are interested in reading it, my post is on my blog, which is called Wizrons Blog.

    And I look forward to reading your ‘part two’ to your post above (which I have already covered in my first post!)

    1. Wow, thank you so much for this beautiful feedback! I will certainly look at your posts and will follow your blog 🙂 I already scheduled my second post to be published this Thursday, and I find it beautiful that our brains seem to work in sync 😉 Thanks again for letting me know!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.